I'm Wide Awake, It's Morning - Bright Eyes

03/04/2019

I'm Wide Awake, It's Morning is Bright Eyes' 6th studio album, and first to feature now permanent member of the band, Nate Walcott. It was recorded in February 2004 and released January 25, 2005. The genre I would say is folk rock, but I've also heard it described as alternative country, which is accurate but I wouldn't call it that just because country gets a bad rep. A lot of people hear "country" and then don't even want to try and listen to whatever it is. On one hand, I don't blame them. Don't get me wrong, I can't stand modern country. I say that because the kind of songs they air on most country stations have a common theme of guns, beer, and objectifying women. Not to mention all their voices sound the same. I'm kidding except actually I'm not, maybe I just don't have a seasoned ear for that kind of thing. I don't know. That's besides the point. What I'm trying to say is while the country you hear isn't that great, it's not the only stuff out there and it's worth giving a listen to. So anyways back to Bright Eyes. The first track opens with about a minute and a half monologue about two strangers on a plane that's about to crash into the ocean. During this time, to comfort the girl next to him, the man begins to sing the first song on the album. It's about how we can't take our time on earth for granted and that for every moment of being alive, how important it is to actually live. It also explores the fact that regardless of who you are, you are going to die, and to find comfort rather that fear in that. I think the use of mandolin in this song gives it a fun and interesting sound. The rest of the songs are pretty good as well, and the last track is an interpolation of Beethoven's Ode to Joy. I'd rate this album like 7/10 and recommend it to people who like Death Cab for Cutie probably.

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started