The Violent Blue - Electric President

02/05/2019

The Violent Blue was the last album released by Electric President before going on hiatus in 2010. In 2014 Ben Cooper hinted on a fourth possible album, but 5 years later it doesn't seem so likely. Electric President has been one of my favorite bands for the past few years, so it's kind of disappointing that they're basically done, but there's still many songs to listen to, along with Ben Cooper's new project, Radical Face. No idea what the other band member Alex Kane is up to now though.

Anyways, there are 10 tracks and the whole album is a little over 45 minutes long. It's mostly leftovers from previous albums, but they're all mostly themed around the ocean, or the "violent blue." The genre is electronic, but I would venture to say there are some folk roots. It's hard to pick a favorite song, but I really like both Nightmare No. 5 or 6 and The Violent Blue. The entire album invokes a weird feeling of nostalgia, which I find to be refreshing. When I found it a few years back, it was unlike anything I'd ever heard. I would say it's been almost a bridge to discovering new music for me. Honestly I'd give this album a 9/10, along with the band as a whole.

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started